Updated local election results


Last updated 11/13/2019 at 9:03pm

The polls showed wide margins and narrow victories when the first group of counted ballots trickled in during the General Election Nov. 5.

Snohomish County had 475,871 people register to vote in this election. The total voter turnout was 42.43%.

Mukilteo City Council

Current Councilmembers Richard Emery and Scott Whelpley faced each other to earn Position 4 after Steve Schmalz chose not to seek reelection. Emery pulled ahead with 56.36% of the vote, compared to Whelpley’s 43.44%.

The position previously held by Whelpley came down to an extremely close race between Riaz Khan and Christopher Maddux. When election results were first released, Khan had 51.44% of the votes and Maddox was sitting with 48.26%. About 53 votes separated the two candidates.

The results for Positions 6 and 7 showed clear winners from the very beginning. Elizabeth Crawford received 65.91% of votes, while her opponent Peter Zieve had 33.99%.

The open seat in Position 7 was secured by Joe Marine with 65.19% of votes, while Kristina Melnichenko had 34.65%.

Mukilteo School District

School Board elections concluded with clear frontrunners from the beginning. The incumbent candidates for Districts 1, 3, and 5 each came in on top when initial results were released.

John Gahagan was a guaranteed victory since he ran for reelection unopposed.

Current School Board President Michael Simmons received 67.62% of the vote, while Bruce Guthrie had 31.77%.

Incumbent Kyle Kennedy will keep his seat with 58.42%, compared to Jennifer Cole’s 40.99%.

Snohomish County

The County Council will welcome a new member to District 2 for the first time in over a decade.

Brian Sullivan left his seat after serving three terms, one as mayor in Mukilteo. Being term-limited, Sullivan did not want to be done with local politics, so he chose to run for Snohomish County Treasurer against Rob Toyer.

Sullivan won with 50.1% of the vote, compared to Toyer’s 49.44%. About 1,131 votes separated the two candidates as of Nov. 11.

Eight names vying for Sullivan’s open seat were on the August ballot; two continued to the General Election. Megan Dunn had 54.71% of the vote, defeating Anna Rohrbrough.

Rohrbrough is familiar to Mukilteo as she was elected City Council Vice President in 2019. Her position on the Council will be on the ballot in 2021, should she choose to seek reelection.

There were many unexpected outcomes in the County results. Ty Trenary lost the vote to keep his position as Snohomish County Sheriff. He conceded from the election before all votes were even counted. Final tallies show Sergeant Adam Forney defeated the previous Sheriff with 55.41% of the votes; Trenary had 44.19%.

Edirin Okoloko and Paul Thompson each competed to maintain their positions as Superior Court judges. Okoloko was previously elected to Position 7 by Gov. Jay Inslee in 2018. He will be replaced by Anna Alexander after she received 51.05% of the vote; Okoloko received 48.45%.

Estate Services Liquidation move management

Thompson was appointed to Position 14 by Gov. Inslee in 2018. He earned his seat for another term with 54.95%, compared to 44.54% for Cassandra Lopez-Shaw.

Dave Somers will continue into another term as County Executive after running unopposed.


Prop. 1 was rejected with 49.65% of votes. This measure aimed to work towards restoring the District's regular property tax levy.

Snohomish County Fire District 7 will not restore its fire levy to $1.50 per $1,000 of assessed valuation. The proposition intended to increase its annual revenue by an amount up to 3% to maintain an effective level of service, firefighter staffing, equipment, and facilities.

This increased levy was approved by voters in 2017. The levy would have been a primary source of funding for fire and emergency medical/paramedic services.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020