Mukilteo Beacon - Your Hometown News Source

2019 election field set


Last updated 5/17/2019 at Noon

The filing period for the 2019 election has passed, and the field of candidates for local races is set.

Below are the races, with candidates for each seat. Look for a more in-depth story in the next issue of The Beacon.

There are notes under each section (ie City Council, School Board, etc.), and all candidates are in alphabetical order by last name.

Mukilteo City Council (nonpartisan)

Position 4:

Charles Eakins

Richard Emery

Scott Whelpley

Position 5:

Ayesha Khan

Riaz Khan

Christopher Maddux

James Yoo

Position 6:

Exekiel Aranez

Elisabeth Crawford

Amy Schaper

Peter Zieve

Position 7:

Joe Marine

Kristina Melnichenko

Tina Over


Scott Whelpley currently holds Position 5, and Richard Emery hold Position 6. Both are vacating their positions to run for Position 4. Steve Schmalz Currently holds Position 4, but won't seek reelection.

Emery initially filed to keep Position 6, but swapped Friday afternoon to Position 4.

Whelpley is in the final year of his first four-year term. He is a war veteran who was deployed five times post 9/11.

Emery is in the final year of his second four-year term. He was initially appointed to fill Position 2 in 2008. He ran for election to keep the seat in 2009 and was successful. He lost the Position 2 seat to Bob Champion in 2013, but won Position 6 in 2015.

At the Snohomish County Elections office, Emery appeared to be trying to switch back to Position 6 at the last minute, but did not do so.

Riaz Khan and his wife Ayesha are both on the ballot for Position 5. The Khans will be coming in to The Beacon's office Monday, and it's believed one will be dropping out of the race. The deadline to drop out is Monday, May 20 at 5 p.m.

Riaz Khan has run for City Council before, as well as state Senator and state Representative, but has never won an elected state or city position. Ayesha Khan has never run for public office.

Peter Zieve initially filed for Position 4, but switched to Position 6 roughly 30 minutes after Emery switched to Position 4. Zieve told The Beacon at the Snohomish County Elections office that he didn't want to face an incumbent. Zieve ran against incumbent Bob Champion in 2017 for Position 2, but lost.

Marine is the former mayor of Mukilteo, and a former councilmember and state Representative. He lost a bid for a third mayor term in 2013 to Jennifer Gregerson.

James Yoo, Charles Eakins, and Tina Over have all run for council before unsuccessfully. Yoo made it past the primary in 2017 for Position 1, but lost to Anna Rohrbough. Eakins ran last-minute in 2015 to Christine Cook, but lost. Over, a local real estate agent, did not make it out of the primary in 2017, when she ran for Position 2.

Schaper ran for state Representative in 2017 as a Republican, and lost to Democrat incumbent Strom Peterson.

Aranez, Crawford, Maddux, and Melnichenko are all first-time candidates.

Aranez is a former U.S. marine who moved to the U.S. in 1999 from the philippines, and was deployed multiple times after 9/11.

Maddux is a father of six and is heavily involved in the Harbour Pointe Middle School music department. He is an army veteran, and an IT manager.

The Beacon is talking to Crawford and Melnichenko Saturdat afternoon.

Snohomish County Council Position 2 (partisan)

Sharita Burton - D

Megan Dunn - D

Jennifer Gregerson - D

Louis Harris - D

Alex Lark - D

Anna Rohrbough - R

Tyler Verda - D

Cecilia Wilson - D


This seat is currently held by Brian Sullivan, a former Mukilteo mayor, councilmember, and state Representative. Sullivan is term-limited for County Council, and is running for County Treasurer against Rob Toyer, a Marysville City Councilmember.

Gregerson is the current mayor of Mukilteo. She is in the second year of her second four-year term. She is also a former Mukilteo City Councilmember.

Rohrbough is in her second year of her first term as a Mukilteo City Councilmember, and is the current council vice president. She is the lone Republican in this race.

Louis Harris is the third Mukilteo resident in this race. He works for the state's Department of Social and Health Services in finances.

The other five candidates are all Everett residents and are all Democrats.

Mukilteo School Board

District 1:

Bruce Guthrie

Mike Simmons

District 3:

Jen Cole

Keashia Garner

Kyle Kennedy

District 5:

John Gahagan


Simmons is the current School Board President. He was first elected in 2011 and was reelected in 2015.

Kennedy is in his first term as a School Board member, and was elected in 2015.

Gahagan was appointed to the School Board in 2011, was elected to a two-year term in 2015, and won reelection in 2015.

Mukilteo Water and Wastewater District Commissioner Position 1

Jeff Clarke

John Reis

Troylyn Goldsberry

Notes: All three are challengers. There is no incumbent in this race.


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020

Rendered 09/19/2020 17:47